English Department

Our English Department is a truly global department with a diverse faculty from around the world. This eclectic mix is responsible for giving our students a wide perspective of English language and literature.  Developing the natural curiosity of children through teaching them  ‘how to learn’ rather than ‘what to learn’ helps our students take  control of their learning and enhances their critical and independent thinking skills.
Literature forms the basis of our English curriculum. Through fiction and non-fiction texts, students perfect the skills of Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing, with an accompanying focus on accurate grammar. This contextual learning helps students to master the language effortlessly, use it fluently and to develop a lifelong enjoyment of reading for pleasure.
Students also participate in Inquiry Based Learning projects (IBL), which help them to apply these learned skills through research-based topics. These group-based activities nurture natural curiosity, critical and lateral thinking, hands-on learning and teamwork. The research projects also cultivate strong presentation skills. This ensures that our students are able to adapt their written and spoken language appropriately, so they can present their findings in a range of different contexts.
Formal teaching is just one way of encouraging students to become lifelong learners. We also make language learning fun through various English activity clubs like Book Club, Cookery Club, ‘Reporter for a day’ and Writing Club. Events like Character dress-up day and Roald Dahl Day help students to celebrate their favourite writers.

Assessment: Both formative and summative assesment help students to chart their progress. Using a wide variety of assessment methods, students’ language skills are tested and developed. Students regularly practice peer assessment, leading to a reflective and constructive learning environment.

Guest speakers

Useful link

中國語文科
  

本校中國語文科以普通話授課,課程涵蓋五大範疇,包括:閱讀、寫作、聆聽、說話及文化。通過全方位的語文學習,使學生得以培養讀寫聽說的能力,增進語文知識及其他生活知識,並加深對文化的了解;同時,培養自學語文及創新思考的能力,建立正面的價值觀,提升個人素質,以達致全人教育的目的,為學生終身學習打好基礎。 
    整個課程採用單元模式教學,並以探究式學習為理念,以學生為主導。學生透過小組活動、討論及訪問等進行多元化、互動及創意學習。同時,學生需於全學年以小組形式完成一次探究式專題研習報告,以提高搜集及分析資料的能力,並培養探究精神及自學的能力。 
    此外,學校於低年級實施協作教學,安排兩位協作教師分別協助一、二年級教學,以提升教學效能,並加強對學生的全面照顧。三年級學生分為五組學習,以降低師生比例,並平衡學習差異,使教學更具針對性。四至六年級推行「翱翔課程」,為學生提供更靈活多變的學習模式。
    於課程以外,中文部組織了不同種類的課外活動,以配合各級學生的學習需要及興趣,例如:識字樂、趣味寫作及語文加油站等。同時,學校每年均安排學生參加校際普通話朗誦比賽,且屢獲佳績。除課外活動外,中文部也安排了書展、工作坊、講座及參觀等,為學生提供多向性的學習平台。

暢所欲言

網站簡介